Southern Cubed Steak Recipe

I was searching on the internet one day, trying to find a recipe so I could use up some cubed steak.   I found this recipe on another blog: www.christyhulsey.wordpress.com/2007/11/13/southern-cubed-steak-recipe/ (hope that link works).  I have used it several times and my family just loves it!  I’ve only used evaporated milk and I think it tastes great.  Might be trying it with buttermilk, when I have other recipes I’m using that call for it.  If you try it both ways, let me know which one you like better.  Thanks!

Southern Cubed Steak

4 cubed steaks, about 1 pound
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
2/3 cup buttermilk *I used evaporated milk as it worked fine
1 tube crushed Ritz Crackers or Saltines
3 Tablespoons shortening
1 can (10 3/4 ounces) condensed cream of mushroom Soup
1 cup milk

Combine flour and pepper in a shallow bowl.  Pour buttermilk into a second bowl.  Put cracker crumbs into a third bowl.

Dredge cubed steaks in the flour, dip into the buttermilk and coat with the cracker crumbs, pressing with hands if necessary to coat thoroughly.

Melt shortening in a large skillet over medium-high heat.   Cook steaks for about 3 minutes on each side, or until nicely browned and cooked through.

Drain off most of the excess fat, leaving the dregs (the tasty brown bits).  Put the meat to the side.

Add soup and milk to the skillet drippings; stirring and scraping up browned bits from teh botton of the skillet.  Continue cooking, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil.  Serve steaks with the hot, creamy gravy.

ENJOY!

1 Comment »

  1. christygriner Said:

    Glad you liked it. Your blog is great!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment